And Then We Came to the End…

5 05 2009

thats-all1As I sit here, about to write my final blog post-my last journalism assignment ever- I can’t help but let the flood gates of nostalgia burst open.  These next few weeks will be filled with last minute scrambling-cramming and jamming (interpret at your own discretion.) And I am fighting back waves of post-college nausea and trying not to let the middle aged mentality of “college- best four years of your life” get me down.  

I am down though. I might as well kick myself while I’m clinging to the crater ridden streets of UMass.  Lets be frank, these were the best god damned years of my life and I wish I could remember more.  Captain Morgan infused many- a- night with a thick fog of memory loss but I’d still board his ship in even the most inclement of weather.  

This is a very surreal moment for me…for all of us about to graduate.  How did we reach the end so quickly? I sure as hell wasn’t racing anyone. I distinctly remember crawling on many occasions.  My mom is reading this and thinking “nice Sarah,” but she should be proud. UMass only has room for the strong. It spits out the overzealous party all the time types, tramples over the meek introverted study goblins and “weeds” out the overly conspicuous dorm room entrepreneurs.  Which reminds me. Before I go, I need to make a public service announcement about another infamous UMass type. 

ATTENTION:   Being a douchebag is a serious phenomenon and douchebaggery rates have increased at UMass since 2005.  No one knows the real cause, but scientists speculate that Natural Ice, trends in facial hair, The Hills, and Nickelback-among other factors- have played a major role. Spokespeople for the anti-douche coalition at UMass Amherst have noted increased rates  of douchebaggery in every dormitory in Southwest as well.  “High levels of douche activity have reportedly come from this area,” said the VP of the ADC.  “We are trying to figure out how to keep this activity isolated, but so far we’ve only managed to confiscate 35 family guy DVDs and 200 cans of AX out of an estimated 17,000.  We have a lot of work ahead of us, but the students that matter deserve a douche free campus. ”

That being said, on to the real reason for this post.  My ‘Feedback Journalism’ experience.   

I loved this class so much and I am sad that it has come to an end.  Out of all of the journalism classes I have taken here at UMass, this was by far my favorite.  Not to say some of the assignments didn’t make me want to pull my hair out (calling a radio talk show) for example. I didn’t mind the ‘letter to the editor’ assignment, however, If I could do it over again I would defintely spend more time finding an article that I actually cared about.  Also, screw the NY times, I love Digg and Reddit.  They have great links to sites that I otherwise would never have found on my own.  The comments are also wittier, and it was much easier to jump into comment threads there than on the Times.  

AND…a brief word about Twitter to the class and future twitterers:  Don’t overthink it. 

The main reason I say I loved this class so much because I came into it thinking that I hated journalism… thinking that I had wasted the last few years in a major that I couldn’t relate to. I was essentially learning a craft that I would never use or want to use.  About halfway into this course, I realized that “journalism” does not have to be as cut and dry as many other professors had me believing.  No offense (but really offense) to a certain professor- who i’ll just call H.R Beetle- because I have never had a teacher so discouraging in my life. I hated H.R’s class, H.R’s politics, interests, and H.R for everything H.R had us believing about ourselves and about journalism.  I hated news writing, indeed, I hated newspapers after taking this class.  

I just want to say thank you @scottbrodeur for allowing  me to be creative and to enjoy writing once again.  This blog is the coolest thing that i’ve had the opportunity to create in any class over the past 4 years.  I love sharing it with people and getting their feedback.  I have to admit, I did more feedback gathering than giving over the duration of this semester but I couldn’t help myself.  Impending unemployment will mean the continuation of this blog into the near future and beyond (with employment I hope).   Hopefully my readers got a few laughs out of this whole thing, I know I did but I am told laughing at your own jokes doesn’t count.  And hopefully you all learned a thing or two about religion, ants, and propper railroad protocol (see previous posts).  

 

To quote American Beauty; “You have no idea what I’m talking about, I’m sure.  But don’t worry: you will someday.”

Over and out Feedback Journalism, over and out. 


Actions

Information

18 responses

6 05 2009
andreakathleen

Amen!

7 05 2009
Shabe

Sarah, what can i say … We shared some good times, great times really. But I think we both knew that we would end up here in this place at this time.

Sure we both said some thing we regret, perhaps me more than anyone, but i think you know where I stand.

Farewell.
— jeffhobbs

7 05 2009
THE_REAL_SHABE

Peace out, yo. I will always remember your blog, not as it was, but more sort of kinda as it was in my head:

http://lol.ianloic.com/feed/trysarahtops.wordpress.com/feed/

Sincerely,

John “The Retard that Invented Twitter” Shabe

7 05 2009
trysarahtops

It doesn’t have to end! I can change, really I’ll change!…I know we’ve had our rough patches but this can’t be the end of us, Shabe. We can start over. I’ll move to the city, you can get a job selling hot dogs to hungry pedestrians. We can make this work. I know we can.

7 05 2009
THE_REAL_SHABE

I’ll tell you something that would go a long way towards beginning the healing process, and this is going to sound a little creepy when you consider it’s a request for photos coming from a stranger that you sort-of-kind-of-but-not-no-didn’t-really meet on the Internet, but let me just say, a couple more photos of that beer bong party on the way out the door would go a long way towards making things right again.

Sincerely,

John “Increase The Peace” Shabe

7 05 2009
Shabe

Look Sarah, we can talk about beer bong photos, but I have to tell you, all it is is talk, just a lot of talk.

Look, you know where I stand. It’s on top of a keg sucking beer from a tap. I’d love to know you are right there with me.

Best,
— Brigadier Admiral HMS Hobbs

7 05 2009
THE_REAL_SHABE

Look — I’m standing here, in a trenchcoat, on the roof of my tastefully weathered car with a boombox over my head. Can you see me, from outside your window? What’s that you hear — is it “In Your Eyes” by Peter Gabriel? The really, excruciatingly long version? Why, yes it is. Here comes the foreign jabbering part: “EEEN GOO ATT TWAA WOOOONN, EENN JOO CAAAA BAA FLLAB QUAAAA!” Doesn’t that pretty much say it all? I am complete! In your eyes. I see the journey, of a thousand churches, or whatever. Oh, I want to upoad, pics of beer bongs, in your eyes. I need more, D-cells, for this stupid boombox, in your eyes. I wanna touch the light the heat the beer bong pics in your eyes!

7 05 2009
trysarahtops

The next photo I upload will be of the time I threw a hefty bag full of stray cats into the CT River.

And how do I know you are the real shabe and not a killer robot pretending to be the real shabe?

14 05 2009
Shabe

did you get my graduation gift? Please say yes!

14 05 2009
THE_REAL_SHABE

What you see above is the a killer robot Shabe — and in fact, had you accepted that graduation gift, you would now be dead

14 05 2009
Shabe

Sarah, I wrote a php script that harvests all of the online job ads that include the word ‘sassy’ … did you get it?

14 05 2009
THE_REAL_SHABE

Think this out with me: That’s just what a KILLER ROBOT SHABE would say! Get out of the house as soon as you can

14 05 2009
Shabe

Can you afford to be wrong about me, Sarah? I mean it’s a php scriptely that is worth the risk, even if I am a KILLER ROBOT

14 05 2009
trysarahtops

I knew a guy named Joe Sass from New Jersey. Not your finest work.

I don’t know what this php script hooplah is all about but it sounds like just the thing a killer robot would say.

15 05 2009
Shabe

I never thought you would prejudge me just because I am a killer robot, Sarah. Not you. Hobbs, sure. He is so closed-minded and cruel. But i thought you were different.

Man, is this where we are in 2009? A killer robot can’t even get the benefit of a doubt? It just breaks my heart.

15 05 2009
THE_REAL_SHABE

The call is coming from upstairs, GET OUT OF THE HOUSE

15 05 2009
ScottB

When modern-day, PHP-writing killer robots weep, do they rust? Or is this new titanium breed tear-proof?

15 05 2009
THE_REAL_SHABE

I believe that is the original title of “Blade Runner,” but we’re getting really off-topic at this point; let’s circle back around and come back to those beer-bong pics

Leave a Reply

